Nepalese in Singapore
Official online home of Nepalese community in Singapore
Watch Nepali TV channels and listen to Nepali FMs LIVE and FREE!!

Archive for February, 2009

NRN Association forms Constitution Suggestion Committee

admin February 13th, 2009

Press Release received from Non Resident Nepali Association (NRNA) Secretariat

The  Non?Resident  Nepali  Association  (NRNA),  International  Coordination  Council  (ICC)  has  formed  a Committee under the chairmanship of Professor Surya P. Subedi, a distinguished professor of law based in  the  UK  with  expertise  on  international,  constitutional  and  human  rights  law,  to  prepare  the  NRN suggestions for the proposed constitution of Nepal.  The committee will collect suggestions from NRNs residing all over the world and draft the collective NRNA recommendation, which will be submitted to the  Constituent  Assembly  in  Nepal.  The  committee  has  been  asked  to  submit  a  well  thought  out  and comprehensive  set  of  suggestions  representing  collective  aspirations  of  the  global  NRN  community  to the ICC by 15 March 2009. Other members of the committee are Mr Kul Chandra Gautam, the former UN  Assistant  Secretary?General,  Mr  Naresh  Koirala,  NRNA  Regional  Coordinator  for  North  America, Professor  Alok  Bohara,  professor  of  political  science  at  the  University  of  New  Mexico  USA,  Dr  Jugal Bhurtel,  the  Spokesperson  of  the  NRNA,  Mr  Dinesh  Tripathi,  the  NRNA’s  Legal  Advisor  as  well  as  the Presidents of the following 45 international chapters of the NRN Association: 
Mr.Goba  Katuwal  (Australia),  Dr.  Shyam  Upadhyaya  (Austria),  Mr.  Basudev  Bhattarai  (Bahrain),  Dr. Mohan Jaiswal (Belarus), Mr. Penba Gyalbu Sherpa (Belgium), Mr. Naba Raj Gurung (Canada), Er. Sudhir Timilsina  (China),  Mr.    Mani  Raj  Thebe  (Cyprus),  Dr.  Sambhu  Prasad  Sah  (Finland),  Mr.  Ashok  Kumar Neupane  (France),  Mr.  Dil  Bahadur  Gurung  (Germany), Mr.  Yem  Kumar  Gurung  (Hong  Kong),  Mr. Surendra Shrestha (Hungary), Mr. Anish Shakya (Indonesia), Mr. Shiva Raj Gautam (Ireland), Mr. Bhuwan Singh Kunwar (Israel), Dr. Bhim Bahadur Bam (Italy), Mr. Bhaban Bhatta (Japan), Mr. Gangaraj Rai (South Korea),  Mr.  Dilli  Poudel  (Lebanon),  Mr.  Ghan  Shyam  Poudel  (Lesotho),  Mr.  Dipendra  Basnet (Luxemburg), Mr.  Krishna  Bdr.  Gurung  (Macau),  Mr.  Sangkar  Bahadur      Poudel  (Malaysia),  Mr.  Sagar Ghimire  (Myanmar),  Dr.  Govind  Rauniyar  (Netherlands),  Mr  Baburaja  Maharjan  (New  Zealand),  Mr. Hikmat Thapa (Nigeria), Dr. Tara Niraula (America), Dr. Bishal Sitaula (Norway), Mr. Dev Narayan Tiwari (Oman), Dr. Bodha Raj Subedi (Poland), Mr. Laxmi Prasad Sapkota (Portugal), Mr. Kamal Mani Guragain (Qatar), Dr. Mani Raj Pokharel (Russia), Mr. Gopal Ghimire (Saudi Arabia), Mr. Amar Pradhan Chitrakar (Singapore), Dr. Sudhakar Dawadi (South Africa), Mr. Aswin Kumar Shrestha (Slovenia), Mr. Ganeshman Talchabhadel (Spain), Mr. Sanjay Mudbhary (Switzerland), Mr. Ramesh K. Hamal (Thailand), Mr. Chandra Pd. Sapkota (UAE), Mr. Damer Ghale (UK), Mr. Birendra Kumar  Singh (Ukraine).

Date:  February 12, 2009

Nepal defeat Singapore by 4 wickets

admin February 9th, 2009

Bhaktapur, February 8, NS report –
Nepal who had already berth their place in  the semi-final of the ACC U-17 Elite Cup, maintained their unbeaten steak and also topped  Group A with a four wicket win over Singapore on Sunday.

Nepal plays UAE ( TU ground )while Malaysia takes on Qatar  (Engineering ground) in the semi-final on Tuesday. Afresh from a dismissal batting performance from the previous match Nepal chose to field and restricted Singapore to 139 runs with the loss of nine wickets, at the TU Ground.

Lead by Abhiraj Rajdeep Singh’s bowling, Singapore made Nepal work hard to accomplish the target, which they acquired in the 29th over. Singh claimed three wickets giving away 27 runs in his spell of eight overs.

Nepal rode to victory, banking on Sagar Pun and Nischal Chaudhary’s kncok of 23 and 38 runs. Pun put up a 26 runs partnership with Aakash Singh Pariyar before getting stumped to Singh. 

 Rezza Gazanavi attempt of getting his team back in the game with two wickets came on too little too late as Nepal had already set up their momentum for the win. Captain Prithu Baskota played a patiently innings to ensure his team’s win remaining unbeaten at 18 of 48 balls.

Man-of-the-match, Pun had also lead from the front in bowling as well. He got  both the openers IShan Shekhar (19) and Mohit Kulkarni (14), He took three wickets giving away 25 runs in his seven overs spell. Sarangdev Krishnan was the other batsmen who defied Nepal’s bowling piling up 20 run. Krishna Karki ran Krishnan out.

Rochak Bhatta, Krishna Karki and Bhuwan Karki shared a wicket a piece. Nepal coach Roy Dias expressed dissatisfaction with his batsmen. ” We have not been able to maintain the good batting performance we displayed in the first match,” Dias went on to say ” The boys are still confused with the shot selection.”